1. The first Dharma king of Sambhala, Sucandra (zla ba bzang po), an emanation of Vajrapāṇi, who is said to have received the Kālacakra teachings from the Buddha.

The Kings of Sambhala

The seven Dharma Kings

Next Page

On this and the following pages are depicted the 32 kings of Sambhala from the Tibetan tradition. On this page are the seven Dharma kings that are said to have preceeded the Kalkī (rigs ldan) kings, who number 25. Please scroll down to see all the Dharma kings, and click on any of them to see a higher resolution image. The same applies to the other pages.

The paintings shown here belong to Benchen monastery in Kathmandu, Nepal. They were commissioned for the large Kālacakra empowerment given there in 2005 at the time of the Kālacakra revelation by Ven. Tenga Rinpoche.

2. Sureśvara (lha'i dbang po), an emanation of Kṣitigarbha. 3. Tejī (gzi brjid can), an emanation of Yamāntaka. 4. Somadatta (zla bas byin), an emanation of Nīvaraṇaviṣkambhin.

5. Sureśvara (lha'i dbang phyug), an emanation of Jambhaka. 6. Viśvamūrti (sna tshogs gzugs), an emanation of Mānaka. 7. Sureśāna (lha'i dbang ldan), an emanation of Khagarbha.

Next Page

Last updated 4 February 2010.
Return to Home Page.